top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturevacant website

That time I turned Def Leopard down for a massage.

Updated: Nov 14, 2021



Dual Clientele- Any spa that has a legitimate clientele seeking professional services, and an "under the table" group of people who seeks illicit services.


One of the only places in this business I've ever worked at, that didn't have a "dual" clientele was only short lived. The owner, God rest her soul was diagnosed with cancer and she was forced to sell her location to man who owned a few other locations I worked at previously.


I gave this pig a mention in my book "Massage Therapy in Crisis" available on Amazon on paperback and eBook. He had gay therapists on staff that floated from location to location who offered happy endings.


Before he took over and cleaned house of anyone who wouldn't service his special clients, this place was amazing! Absolutely no drama what so ever.


When a few of my fellow therapists learned about my mobile massage service that offered instrument specific therapeutic sessions for musicians and everybody else, they thought it was cool.


One of them was the friend of another therapist who ran a similar service that worked with major bands that came through the Chicago land area like Poison, Nickleback, Metallica, etc.


At the time this lady was short staffed for a Def Leopard concert that was about a week away in Tinley Park and she offered to put in a word for me. Sure, why not? That would look great on a resume. I'm not one of those who get's star struck and Def Leopard really wasn't one of my favorite bands anyway, but if I could meet them for free? Then what the heck. The price was right.


The lady running the service for the Def Leopard show contacted me by email a few day's later and filled me in. I would get full access backstage passes and get to hang out with the band. I would follow them back to their hotel after the show and was expected to bring my own table.


She told me the gig didn't pay anything. She would be making all the money, but for me? My compensation was the backstage passes and maybe bragging rights? Good luck paying your light bill with that!


I knew she was making a ton of money on this deal and I wasn't interested in lugging my heavy table around the city, through a parking garage and I would have to pay my own parking, then through hallways, elevators and security check points for backstage passes? Pour some sugar on yourself! Def Leopard sucks!


There are many people in this business that will take total advantage of you if you let them. Sorry, I'm a grown man and have bills to pay. I'll do charity for the right causes and schedule permitting but if I work for free on anybody? It will be military or law enforcement and not some billionaire junky rocker with a mansion in Malibu.


As a long time musician and Pro Tools user I've seen my heroes many times and even shook their hand and have realized that the only difference between them and myself were our bank accounts.


I would bet that I have more friends than they do because music is a lonely business. So is the massage business for a straight white guy now that I think of it, but hand's down one of my favorite music moments was getting a pick from Nikki Sixx. But that's another story in itself.



20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page